Appearances

pen-writing-calligraphy-life-animated-gifWhatever your work or your passion in life, appearances are important. Even if you don’t want to, it’s important. It can give life to a project or kill it.

Thing is, the first impression can be deceiving and it can take a long time for you to realize that you’ve got it wrong.

Lately, I’ve hit a dead end with a project I thought would be long term. A nice facade brought me in and I gave the project all I had until I realized it wouldn’t work. I thought I wasn’t enough but I was wrong. I was enough, I still am; I just chose the wrong project.

For a while now, I felt like I was in a slump. It’s hard to see that you’ve failed and believed sweet promises that meant absolutely nothing.

But you know what? There’s a silver lining. I found out not long after quitting that I wasn’t the only one in that situation and that I didn’t imagine things.

This time, it was for a writing project. But it’s happened before when I volunteered or even at work.

What’s the point of all this? Don’t judge yourself too hard. Appearances are important, yes, but following up on what you put out, keeping your reputation intact is even more important.

I’d rather have my integrity and enjoy what I do, then spotlights and bling that doesn’t mean anything.

Leave a Reply

